2019-2020 Undergraduate Bulletin 
    
    Jun 18, 2019  
2019-2020 Undergraduate Bulletin

Academic Calendars


The academic calendars are subject to change. Please check www.hamline.edu/academiccalendar for the latest information.


On Campus Undergraduate Academic Calendar 2019-2020

Hamline’s on campus undergraduate program follows a 4-1-4 academic calendar. During each of the 15-week fall and spring terms a student has a normal schedule of four 4-credit courses. Students have the option of taking one 4-credit course in the one-month winter term. In a nine-month academic year a student typically completes 32 semester credits. New students normally begin classes in either the fall or spring term. The calendar offers flexibility in curriculum planning and opens the way for the student to combine a variety of off-campus experiences with classroom learning. Many students have used the winter term for independent study projects requiring off-campus study, or for study abroad.

Summer session is considered separate from the regular academic year. During summer, two four-week terms and an overlapping ten-week term are scheduled. Summer study at Hamline enables students to make up credits, accelerate progress toward their degrees, take courses that might be difficult to schedule in a regular term, or take advantage of reduced summer tuition. Students should consult the summer term website at www.hamline.edu/summer for further information.


Fall Term   September 4-December 19, 2019
Fall term classes begin   Wednesday, September 4
Midterm break   Friday, October 25
Thanksgiving break   Thursday and Friday, November 28-29
Fall term classes end   Friday, December 13
Fall term final exams   Monday, December 16 - Thursday, December 19

Winter Term   January 6-30, 2020
Winter term classes begin   Monday, January 6
Martin Luther King Jr. holiday   Monday, January 20
Winter term classes end   Thursday, January 30

Spring Term   February 5-May 21, 2020
Spring term classes begin   Wednesday, February 5
Spring break   Monday, March 23 - Friday, March 27
Spring term classes end   Friday, May 15
Spring term final exams   Monday, May 18 - Thursday, May 21
Commencement   Saturday, May 23

Summer Term   June 1-August 22, 2020
Summer I classes begin   Monday, June 1
Summer I classes end   Thursday, June 25
Summer II classes begin   Monday, July 6
Summer II classes end   Thursday, July 30
Summer III classes begin   Monday, June 1
Fourth of July holiday   Friday, July 3
Summer III classes end   Friday, August 7

 


Online Bachelor’s Degree Completion Academic Calendar 2019-2020

Hamline’s online degree completion program courses are offered in eight-week sessions, two sessions each in fall, spring, and summer semesters. Students may take up to two four-credit courses in each eight-week session, and must take at least 12 credits within a 16-week semester to be considered full-time.


Fall Semester   September 3-December 20, 2019
Session One classes begin   Tuesday, September 3
Labor Day Holiday   Monday, September 2
Session One classes end   Friday, October 25
Session Two classes begin   Monday, October 28
Thanksgiving Holiday   Thursday and Friday, November 28-29
Session Two classes end   Friday, December 20

Spring Semester   January 6-April 24, 2020
Session One classes begin   Monday, January 6
Martin Luther King Jr. holiday   Monday, January 20
Session One classes end   Friday, February28
Session Two classes begin   Monday, March 2
Session Two classes end   Friday, April 24
Commencement   Saturday, May 23

Summer Semester   May 4-August 21, 2020
Session One classes begin   Monday, May 4
Memorial Day Holiday   Monday, May 25
Session One classes end   Friday, June 26
Session Two classes begin   Monday, June 29
Fourth of July Holiday   Friday, July 3
Session Two classes end   Friday, August 21