2018-2019 Undergraduate Bulletin 
    
    Dec 15, 2018  
2018-2019 Undergraduate Bulletin

Academic Calendars


Note: The academic calendars are subject to change. Please check www.hamline.edu/academiccalendar for the latest information.


On Campus Undergraduate Academic Calendar 2018-2019

Hamline’s on campus undergraduate program follows a 4-1-4 academic calendar. During each of the 15-week fall and spring terms a student has a normal schedule of four 4-credit courses. Students have the option of taking one 4-credit course in the one-month winter term. In a nine-month academic year a student typically completes 32 semester credits. New students normally begin classes in either the fall or spring term. The calendar offers flexibility in curriculum planning and opens the way for the student to combine a variety of off-campus experiences with classroom learning. Many students have used the winter term for independent study projects requiring off-campus study, or for study abroad.

Summer session is considered separate from the regular academic year. During summer, two four-week terms and an overlapping ten-week term are scheduled. Summer study at Hamline enables students to make up credits, accelerate progress toward their degrees, take courses that might be difficult to schedule in a regular term, or take advantage of reduced summer tuition. Students should consult the summer term website at www.hamline.edu/summer for further information.


Fall Term   September 5-December 20, 2018
Fall term classes begin   Wednesday, September 5
Midterm break   Friday, October 26
Thanksgiving break   Thursday and Friday, November 22-23
Fall term classes end   Friday, December 14
Fall term final exams   Monday, December 17 - Thursday, December 20

Winter Term   January 2-25, 2019
Winter term classes begin   Wednesday, January 2
Martin Luther King Jr. holiday   Monday, January 21
Winter term classes end   Friday, January 25

Spring Term   January 30-May 16, 2019
Spring term classes begin   Wednesday, January 30
Spring break   Monday, March 18 - Friday, March 22
Spring term classes end   Friday, May 10
Spring term final exams   Monday, May 13 - Thursday, May 16
Commencement   Saturday, May 18

Summer Term   June 3-August 24, 2019
Summer I classes begin   Monday, June 3
Summer I classes end   Thursday, June 27
Summer II classes begin   Monday, July 8
Summer II classes end   Thursday, August 1
Summer III classes begin   Monday, June 3
Fourth of July holiday   Wednesday, July 4
Summer III classes end   Friday, August 9

 


Online Bachelor’s Degree Completion Academic Calendar 2018-2019

Hamline’s online degree completion program courses are offered in eight-week sessions, two sessions each in fall, spring, and summer semesters. Students may take up to two four-credit courses in each eight-week session, and must take at least 12 credits within a 16-week semester to be considered full-time.


Fall Semester   August 27-December 14, 2018
Session One classes begin   Monday, August 27
Labor Day Holiday   Monday, September 3
Session One classes end   Friday, October 19
Session Two classes begin   Monday, October 22
Thanksgiving Holiday   Thursday and Friday, November 22-23
Session Two classes end   Friday, December 14

Spring Semester   January 7-April 26, 2019
Session One classes begin   Monday, January 7
Martin Luther King Jr. holiday   Monday, January 21
Session One classes end   Friday, March 1
Session Two classes begin   Monday, March 4
Session Two classes end   Friday, April 26
Commencement   Saturday, May 18

Summer Semester   May 6-August 23, 2019
Session One classes begin   Monday, May 6
Memorial Day Holiday   Monday, May 27
Session One classes end   Friday, June 28
Session Two classes begin   Monday, July 1
Fourth of July Holiday   Thursday, July 4
Session Two classes end   Friday, August 23